Skip to main content

Distance Learners / Dual Enrolled Students: Getting Started

Online and dual enrollment students accessing the library's services from off-campus

Getting Started

LSUS Library resources...

...are accessible from your home or office wherever you are physically in the world.  Thousands of ebooks and journal articles are available for you to use researching your topic.

Reference Librarians are available to assist you should you have any questions regarding accessing any materials or resources, or beginning your research.

Ask a reference librarian...

LibRefDesk@LSUS.edu
(please enter "distance student" "dual enrolled" in subject 

Call the Reference Desk at  318-797-5068

Other libraries...

in your area--local public or academic, are good sources for materials & for reference help. 

LSUS Noel Library is here to assist you as possible.  We will get journal articles for you that are not available locally.  You will need to set up an account, it's easy, in our inter-library borrowing system, Illiad. (then, when searching in any of the library's subscription databases, using LinkSource when no full-text available, can select the "request item via ILL" option)

Any questions ?

Ask me,  william.peters@lsus.edu

(please enter "distance student" or "dual enrolled" in subject)

318-798-4154

Got a question ?

William Peters
Contact:
Library 2nd floor, Rm. 219

(near Microforms Rm.)

318-798-4154

LIBRARY HOURS

Fall 2015

Monday, August 24 - Friday, December 11

Monday - Thursday     7:30 AM to 9:00 PM
Friday                            7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
​Saturday                                         CLOSED
Sunday                        1:00 PM to 9:00 PM

CLOSED for
Labor Day Holiday
Sunday, Sept. 6 - Monday, Sept. 7

Thanksgiving Holiday
Thursday, Nov. 26 - Friday, Nov. 27

Looking for journal articles?

Databases

Need to research journal articles?  From library's homepage, select "Find Articles & Databases" on left.  Remember, if off-campus, you will be prompted for your student ID (or faculty ID) & PIN when you select a database link.

Which Database to use ?

Try using one of the LibGuides which will specify, according to your subject, the best databases for your research.

Need books ?

Library's online catalog...

will search physical books, ebooks, government documents (federal & Louisiana agency publications) & miscellaneous items (videos, DVDs...)  search online catalog now

Ebooks

Ebooks at Noel Library

Electronic books exist in several different database collections at LSUS Noel Library.  Records for individual books within these collections exist in our online catalog as shown here:

depending upon which ebook collection, the display & functionality will differ.  

The 2nd book in catalog record above appears thus:

ebook collections available

Currently there are several ebook collections each appearing in the list of subscription databases.

Here are the links:

EBSCO eBook Collection

Springer eBooks

Credo Reference Literati

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Remember:

when off campus... clicking on URL for ebook in online catalog, OR, accessing one of the above direct links to an ebook database, you will be prompted for your student ID # and your PIN.

EBSCO Discovery (one search of all resources)

Sample search on "james joyce" (Discovery searches most of the library's books, ebooks & journal articles)

Limiters on left side allow for focusing search. Manipulate your retrieval set by selecting/de-selecting these.  Search EBSCO Discovery Service now!

And below, our refined search focused on full text items, with subjects of James Joyce and Ulysses

Can't Find What You Need?

Let Us Get An Item For You!

If we don't have it in our collection, we can get it for you or tell you how to get it.

Here are a few services or products the library offers that will assist you in getting materials from another library at no charge to you.

  • Interlibrary Loan
  • WorldCat
  • LALINC

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Need a Book or Journal the Library Does Not Have?

Need a book, article, CD, DVD, conference paper, or a thesis? Can't find it in the catalog or the online databases? Current students, staff, and faculty can request material not available in the library's collection through the Interlibrary Loan Program. Material is requested from other member network libraries.

The Library makes every effort to send requests to libraries that do not charge for loans or copies. Occasionally, the Library is unable to obtain an item except from an institution that charges for loans. Payment for these fees is the responsibility of the requestor. We can almost always obtain material you need and most requests are obtained free of charge.

First-time users must register before submitting requests. To register or request items, start here. For more information, visit the Library's Interlibrary Loan information page.

WorldCat

This catalog features the records of over 10,000 libraries around the world.
Find out the closest library that has a particular item or search the catalog to see what is available on a particular subject. Most items found here can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. 

LALINC

LALINC offers a way for students, faculty, and staff of Louisiana colleges and universities to borrow materials from Louisiana academic libraries other than their own. Current LSUS students in good standing with the Library may go to the Library Circulation Desk and request a LALINC card, which can be presented to another Louisiana academic library for borrowing privileges. LALINC CARD

Policies differ from library to library, and the lending library has the option to honor the LALINC card based upon the status (undergraduate, graduate, faculty or staff) of the cardholder. For more information on the LALINC card including a list of LALINC institutions, please visit the LALINC page.